About Us

Dunshaughlin Choral Society was formed in 1975 by Roisin De Blacam and Marie Naughton. It has a membership of approximately 50 singers. The Musical Director is Karen Jasinski. 

Bringing live music to the village of Dunshaughlin was the main aim of the Society and its whole ethos was, and is, about local involvement and development. 

In the early years, we staged Musicals including “Oklahoma!”, ” Calamity Jane”, “South Pacific”, “Viva Mexico”, “Oliver”, “The Sound of Music” and “Singing in the Rain”. In recent years, we have competed at choral festivals in New Ross, Sligo, Cork and Navan. 

We have sung in the National Concert Hall for President Mary Robinson, in “3,000 Voices in Concert” in Lansdowne Road under the baton of Gearoid Grant and again with him in “Voices of the World” in Rome. We were honoured by the presence of President Mary McAleese at our thirtieth anniversary concert.

Guest artistes who have participated in our concerts included Bernadette Greevy, Louis Browne, The Garda Band, Ronan Tynan, Paddy Cole, Kenneth Rice, Honor Heffernan and Joanna (of Tequila Sunrise fame).

We rehearse on Monday nights from September to May, at 8 p.m. in St. Patrick’s Hall, Main Street, Dunshaughlin.

New members are always welcome! 

Current members

Angela Scully,Anne Donegan, Ciara Gallagher, Evelyn Naughton,Fionnuala Fitzpatrick, Grainne Fitzpatrick, Joan Llewellyn, Margaret Keane, Margaret Lynch, Maria Lawless, Mary Connolly, Mary Hickey, Mary Kinsella, Mia Connolly, Moya Brady,  Roisin Freeney, Roseanne Flanagan, Suzanne Keegan, Trish O’ Loughlin, Una Callan, Una O’ Brien.

Ann Mulligan, Antoinette Brady, Barbara Coughlan, Carol Englishby, Catherine Jennings, Dolores Phelan, Georgina Molloy, Irene O’ Reilly, Jenny Copeland, Joan Rawdon, Marie Hayes, Nuala Doyle, Rosaleen Bouktila, Rosanne Meenan, Suzie Farrell.

Brendan Scully, Brian Sheridan, David Tyrrell, Frank Conroy, Liam MacRaghnaill, Martin Kelly, Michael Donnellan, Michael McCann, Peter Fahy, Shay Fitzpatrick.

Brendan Leonard, David Mercer, Jim Ryan, John O' Connor, Liam Brazil, Maggie Lopez, Peter Geraghty, Tony Brady, Tony Lawlor

Ciara Vaughan

Former members who have passed away in recent years

Ciaran Murray                    Benny Downes    
David Gleeson                    Frank Conlan
Des Grey                            Clare Browne
Helen Moran                       Regina Kenny
Betty Carey                        Liam Carey
Gerry O’Sullivan Snr.        Mary McEntaggart Snr.
Alice Kenny                       Anne Murphy
Dympna Lynch                  Nancy Englishby
Geraldine Wickham            Imelda Smith
Robert Clarke                     John Donnelly
Ron Bennett                        Nancy Bennett
Marie Naughton                  Mary Dennis
Rose Tormay                      Phyllis Smith
Patricia McAuley

Choral Society Committee
The Committee consists of 11 members in total.

Musical Director: Karen Jasinski
Chairperson: David Tyrell
Treasurer: Shay Fitzpatrick
Secretary: Tony Lawlor
P.R.O.: Roisin Freeney
Maria Lawless
Susie Farrell
Brian Sheridan
Peter Geraghty
David Mercer
Barbara Coughlan

Honorary President: Roisin De Blacam

Musical Director Karen Jasinski